Roasted Potato Bread

I had never heard of a couronne basket before. After Googling it and finding photos of sombrero type containers, my curiosity soared. Rummaging around my house I found a large basket and a small bowl and I made my own. The Internet told me how to do that. Isn’t it grand?

Image

I soaked the cracked wheat for 8 hours.

Image

I’ve never put whole slices of potatoes in bread before! It was a strange experience.

Image

When the bread came out of the oven it was like a baby whale. It was huge.

Image

This is the first of the bread that wasn’t pleasant to eat. It was dense and very grainy. Not like Dave’s Killer Bread kinda dense and grainy. More like sand mixed with flour kind of dense and grainy. My dad on the other hand loved it. I don’t think I’ll make this again.

We will be using this for the stuffing on Thanksgiving.

Megan

Leave a Reply

