Semolina Pizza with Fresh Herbs and Goat Cheese

(My dad wants credit for helping with this. He chopped the onion.)

When my dad was younger he worked in a pizza kitchen in California. It was there that he learned to throw pizza. When I was younger (from 10-12) every weekend my dad would make pizza for us. It is one of my favorite foods. The thing about my dad is he can’t do much in a normal way. As a result he puts interesting thing on his pizza. Gobs of blue cheese, capers, spices, zucchini and the list goes on. I’m surprised he hasn’t put hot sauce on it yet.

My pizza skills aren’t like, ‘Dude, that’s sick.’ My skills are more like, ‘Cool story bro.’

But off I went with the adventure. I had never had goat cheese before. (I quite liked it.) I thought I did fairly well for a first pizza.

Tom Colicchio would think otherwise. He would say, ‘I thought it had nice flavor, but it was overdone, that’s unacceptable. That’s chef lesson 101.’ Then Padma would turn to me and say, ‘Megan, please pack your knives and go.’

Thankfully, this isn’t Top Chef. Thankfully, I can still stay at home.

photo (16)

 

With that we will board the S.S. Food and leave the exotic island of yeast bread. Soon, we will find ourselves at the tranquil land of quick breads.

Megan

One thought on “Semolina Pizza with Fresh Herbs and Goat Cheese

  1. I remember hearing stories of your dad throwing pizzas. In fact, whenever I make a homemade pizza and I throw the dough, I think of Paul B. Then I throw too high and it gets stuck on the fan blades and the dusty ceiling. But that’s ok. Dust adds fiber. Or something.

Leave a Reply

