Buttermilk Pancakes

I had a Cinderella nightgown. (I lived in dresses.) I wore it every night for as long as I can remember. I would wake up on Saturday mornings and saunter downstairs. My dad would be by the stove making my favorite breakfast. Pancakes. He would comment on my nightgown and how it was getting older. (My six-year-old self would refuse to put it in the Goodwill pile.) I would climb onto a stool and watch him flip the pancakes over in the pan. I would be told to set the table. Soon,my family would gather round a table that was filled with fresh fruit, butter, a variety of syrup, milk and pancakes. My long curly hair would get in the syrup. My mom would tell me to go put my hair up. This series of events would occur every Saturday.

Jack Johnson, being the brilliant artist he is, wrote and recorded a ditty about pancakes. Not just any pancakes, banana pancakes.

I won’t even get started on banana pancakes. I love them. End of story.

Being the geek I am, I found the most wonderful thing. A Spider-Man pancake flipper. (Is there a real name for that?)

photo

I decided to make these during the Super Bowl. (Go Ravens) We had a pancake linner.  (lunch and dinner) yum.

photo

 

Megan

Leave a Reply

